BERT MAES

The Future of CNC Manufacturing Education – CNC Manufacturing, Education Reform & Change Management News.

Part 1: Green Technology ~ Wind Turbines and CNC

Posted by Bert Maes on July 2, 2009


Waves of innovation

This is one of those charts I’ll love to use. It deserves some further research and clarification, so I’ll write a few posts on the role of CNC machining in the next “waves of innovation”.

Part 1: Green Technology ~ Wind Turbines and CNC

Computer Numerically Controlled (CNC) machine tools are vital in the wind turbine industry.

CNC machines are actually big computers to shape steel, aluminium, titanium or plastic into critical components of the wind turbine. From the smallest pieces to the giant parts: all are one or two steps away from CNC machining.

CNC technologists first create or review a CAD/CAM computer model for the specific wind turbine part to be made. Next, they load the program in the machine, they select the tools and equipment needed to shape the piece, and calculate where to cut or drill.

They use their knowledge and skills in materials, computers and machine tools to produce the part to extremely precise specifications.

Wind Turbine Elements

It must be extremely rewarding to design technology and create solutions that are very relevant in society and make a real difference for our future.

Don’t you think?

Following soon:

Part 2 might be: Green Technology ~ Nano-engineering and CNC

Part 3 could be: Green Technology ~ Solar Power and CNC

>> Subscribe at bertmaes.wordpress.com

17 Responses to “Part 1: Green Technology ~ Wind Turbines and CNC”

  1. […] – Wind turbines and CNC […]

  2. […] Green Technology ~ Wind Turbines and CNC […]

  3. boxbcn said

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It will always be exciting to read content from
    other authors and use a little something from their websites.

  4. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites on the net.
    I most certainly will highly recommend this blog!streetdirectory

  5. Florrie said

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year

    old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed
    the shell to her ear and

    screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her
    ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is

    completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  6. In addition to the gallery space SECCA has a large auditorium for music concerts,
    movies, and family fun activity days. Pages, magazines, business cards, presentation, advertisements and logos are
    typical put together by graphic design. In some cases the graphics drive the prototyping; but this ultimately
    depends on the importance of visual form versus function.

  7. Can I just say what a relief to uncover a person that really understands what they are talking about on the
    web. You definitely realize how to bring a problem to
    light and make it important. More and more people ought to read this and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular because you certainly possess the gift.

  8. vimax said

    Hello to every one, as I am genuinely keen of reading this website’s post to
    be updated on a regular basis. It includes good stuff.

  9. buy kopi luwak said

    you’re in reality a excellent webmaster. The website
    loading velocity is incredible. It sort of feels that
    you are doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece.
    you’ve done a magnificent job on this matter!

  10. Hi, I do think this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will
    return yet again since i have saved as a favorite it.

    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be
    rich and continue to help others.

  11. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    many months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  12. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking
    forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  13. Can you tell us more about this? I’d love to find out some additional information.

  14. eliza said

    That is a good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.

    Simple but very accurate information… Many thanks for sharing
    this one. A must read post!

  15. Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to create a really good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.|

  16. Thanks for every other informative blog. Where else may I
    am getting that kind of information written in such a perfect way?
    I’ve a venture that I am simply now operating on, and
    I have been at the glance out for such information.

  17. custom made outdoor business signs

    Part 1: Green Technology ~ Wind Turbines and CNC « BERT MAES

Leave a comment